PTA Banner
  • PTA Welcome Packet


    Dear Parents and Teachers,

         On behalf of the Sherman Elementary School PTA, I’d like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the 2016-2017 school year.  The summer went by too quickly, but we're excited to start this year's journey with all of our returning Sherman family members, as well as all of you who are new to the school!

        As you may have already gathered, Sherman Elementary is a place for building friendships and community.  The teachers and staff are focused on providing our students the best possible education while emphasizing the importance of character.  Our PTA is intent on helping them achieve those goals!  We encourage you to join us in this effort by becoming a PTA member.  Membership dues are only $4 per member per school year, yet every membership helps provide essential support to our school and its students.  Some examples of the support we provide throughout the year are the annual Costume ball, a science fair, funding for online educational subscriptions, and field trips for all grade levels.  What you're not buying with your membership is an obligation.  While we appreciate every moment that our PTA members spend volunteering, there is no requirement to volunteer or attend meetings.  We understand the busy schedule of a famly with young children, and encourage you to participate in whatever manner you feel appopriate.

         PTA meetings are held the first Monday of every month at 3:30pm in the gym (except January).  We will be able to process new memberships at any of these meetings or you can return the membership form sent home on Friday, September 16th in the PTA Welcome Packet.  

         Please take a moment to look through the papers included in this year's welcome packet.  We're hoping this will help give you a better idea of what the PTA is all about and that the information can be helpful to you throughout the school year.  

         I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank the 2016-2017 PTA officers for all of their hard work and dedication. Andy Burns, Brigit Osborn, Megan Converse, Shar Beebe, and Kristen Bauter; we appreciate the time and effort you put into each of your positions! I’d also like to thank all of the volunteers that made last year’s programs successful!  We couldn't do it without you.

         Below you will find a list of the Executive Committee and Executive Board members for the 2017-2018 school year. We hope that you find the information in the PTA Welcome Packet helpful. For more about the PTA, please visit our site: (Firefox or Chrome recommended). You can also find us on Facebook:  Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions you may have!  I’m looking forward to a great school year!

    Kindest Regards,

    Katie Wright



    Executive Committee                          

    Katie Wright, President                                

    Andy Burns, Vice President                   

    Suzie Renzi-Falge, Secretary                                

    Jamilyn Barna, Treasurer                         


    Executive Board                                                         

    Katie Wright, President                                                             

    Andy Burns, Vice President

    Julie Cecil, Secretary

    Jamilyn Barna, Treasurer

    Shar Beebe, Membership Chair

    TBD, Teacher Liaison

    Terry Gonseth, Principal